Across the country, it’s very difficult for a noncustodial parent
to escape paying
child support as parents did in the past. These days, local child support agencies have
numerous tools in their toolbox to enforce child support orders, including
but not limited to wage garnishment, intercepting of tax refunds, bank
levies, liens, credit reporting, etc.
Enforcement actions to collect past-due child support are authorized under
federal law. If a noncustodial parent in California skips payments or
does not pay the full payment, their driver’s licenses, professional
licenses, and recreational licenses (hunting and fishing, etc.) can be
suspended. When does this take place?
When Are Licenses Suspended?
fall behind 30 or more days, you will automatically receive a notice in the mail from
licensing agencies, including the California Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) warning you about the impending license suspension.
The first time it happens, you’ll have 150 days to respond or your
licenses face suspension. The second time around, you won’t be so
lucky; you’ll only have 30 days to respond before your licenses
“Each state imposes its own criteria for the amount of arrears the
obligor (the person who owes child support) must owe for a license to
be suspended or revoked and the amount of time the obligor must be delinquent
before suspension or revocation occurs. Related provisions include procedures
to halt revocation proceedings, reinstate licenses and issue temporary
or restricted licenses,” according to the
National Conference of State Legislatures.
Passport Denials for Child Support
In all states, not just California, if a parent’s child support arrears
reaches or exceeds $2,500, they will be barred from obtaining a U.S. passport.
If you try to renew or apply for a U.S. passport and your application
is denied, please
contact our office right away so we can assist you. We can also help you if other licenses are suspended
due to child support.